Lok Satta

About JP

Thursday, 15 January 2009 00:00

About JP - Several Laurels

Article Index
About JP
Several Laurels
All Pages

Dr. Narayan has been felicitated with several laurels.

In 2002

* Honored with the "Rotary Manav Seva Award 2002" for his crusade against corruption
* awarded the "Yudhvir Memorial Award 2002" for his outstanding contribution to the cause of good governance.

In 2003

* Awarded the "Dr.Rustam D.Ranji Rotary Award" by Rotary Club of India, September.

In 2004

* Awarded the "D. Ch.Tirupathi Raju Memorial Award 2004" in appreciation of his vision in terms of identifying the need of establishing a people's forum like Lok Satta and further developmental work done by it to bring in sustainable measures in the area of democratic governance, July.
* Honored with prestigious "Dr.Pinnamaneni Sita Devi Foundation Award", December.

In 2005

* Honored with the "Bharat Asmita Jana Jagran Shreshta" - a Bharat Asmita National Award by MIT School of Management, Pune in recognition as the best performer in the area of Public Awakening, February.
* Felicitated by the Hyderabad Software Exporters Association, Hyderabad in recognition for his contribution to the growth of IT industry in Andhra Pradesh and his efforts towards ushering democratic reforms in the country, February.

Dr Jayaprakash Narayan has served on the following panels

* The National Advisory Council (NAC) constituted by the United Progressive Alliance government to advise the government on the implementation of the National Common Minimum Programme, July 2004-August 2006.
* Vigilance Advisory Council constituted by the Central Vigilance Commission, November,2004.
* Second Administrative Reforms Commission constituted by the Government of India under the Chairmanship of Veerappa Moily, September 2005.

In 2006, he initiated the launch of Lok Satta Party a movement for new political culture in the state of Andhra Pradesh and is serving as its National Coordinator.